Preview, just a bit of this month’s column for the Haiku Society of America

Here is a preview — just a bit — of this month’s column for the Haiku Society of America.

Are you on Twitter? I know so many wonderful poets writing great haiku–people who have shaped the landscape of American haiku. And yet I have to tell you, very few of them are on Twitter. Why is that?

It’s such a perfect vehicle for the art. Some poets use it well. I’ve named them before and I will sing their praises again on Friday as part of Twitter’s Follow Friday (#ff) tradition.

I can be found on Twitter at @myersgene.

About genemyers

Gene Myers is a New Jersey poet, music journalist and columnist who learned to walk twice. His weekly column is called The Joy of Life. He was awarded first place in Arts and Entertainment Writing by The New Jersey Press Association.
This entry was posted in haiku and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Preview, just a bit of this month’s column for the Haiku Society of America

  1. snowbirdpress says:

    Hi, Gene, I’ve been trying to synchronize my blogs so they all work together. I’ve been posting your posts on both Twitter and Facebook each time I come to them. But I also have a wordpress blog
    snowbirdpress (dot) wordpress (dot) com…. and I’m trying to work in a Tumbler connection. The wordpress blog I use to document the haiga I’ve created with many of the wonderful haiku haijin that have been kind enough to let me play with their haiku. All these blogs, though, are taking up a great amount of time, even though I only post once a week, I still have to answer many questions from people not familiar with haiku or haiga or any haikai. Still, I thought I’d take the summer to try to work them all in together so that they can be handled with a sane amount of time. If it works I will then contemplate what can be done with them. I’ve just run across one blogger who has, believe it or not, monetized his blog… not that I’m interested in that aspect of it… but I’m sure learning a lot. And having a lot of fun for awhile bringing haiku to others that might not be familiar with its charm.

  2. snowbirdpress says:

    I’ll look for your Twitter next time I’m on…. I sometimes forget to hashmark my haiku so often they just sit on my own account unless a follower picks them up and RT’s them.

Leave a Reply

