Poem: Another Angel

I am a ship to the moment.
Say this with me:
You are a king in front of a king,
and we are living, in part,
in a former kingdom.

And still, someone isn’t calling.
Has anyone been blessed?
The only animal that can cry is
stranded at the foot of a mountain.

Rise up and watch this!
Four streams;
one stopped;
three keep going.

Someone prayed for this day.
Five minutes until we lay hands.
Just a few minutes before we see
what’s coming around the mountain.
Somebody say what’s next!

About genemyers

Gene Myers is a New Jersey poet, music journalist and columnist who learned to walk twice. His weekly column is called The Joy of Life. He was awarded first place in Arts and Entertainment Writing by The New Jersey Press Association.
This entry was posted in poem, poem by Gene Myers, poems, Poems from Eyedark and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Poem: Another Angel

  1. Ofira Sephiroth says:

    Very nicely written.

  2. Dorla Moorehouse says:

    My favorite strophe is the third one – the image of a stopped stream is fantastic.

  3. Just someone says:

    A great one…

  4. Keith Wallis says:

    enjoyed the read

  5. janetleigh says:

    I love this poem! Especially the third strophe. What an image! Your poem has a kinetic energy that really appeals to me and has me hanging onto every word as the poem flows like a river to the sea. Great writing..

    I’m here from the Poets Who Blog site..

  6. Mairi says:

    Hi Gene, I’m just catching up on the poets who blog list and am glad to have found your site. Rattlebag is one of my favourite anthologies and your take on it promises to be a favourite as well.

  7. Sara says:

    I particulary found the first line to be really strong. It was a fantastic way to start off this poem.

  8. Oleg K. says:

    Hi Gene, I like the oral quality of this poem, especially the second line, “Say this with me:” that brings me right into the situation. There are other parts as well that come across as a bit of call-and-response.

    Throughout, but especially in the last stanza, I am sensing expectation. Though the third line seems to say that the expectation is already fulfilled.

    I’m not sure I understand the title, unless another angel is coming around the mountain.

    A poem I can get into.

    Thanks!

  9. Charmi says:

    The entire poem sings! Wonderful.

  10. snowbirdpress says:

    Gene, It’s beginning to sound a bit like Rumi! What a great flow to find yourself following! Merrill

  11. JBM says:

    A very well written verse. The more number of times I read it, the more I can frolic in it’s beauty.


    JBM

    PS: Please visit my poetry blog – http://www.deadwoodedition.com/

  12. snowbirdpress says:

    GOD dancing
    in the cradle this eve who knows
    what the song is?
    What geat mystery of love
    reaches the longing heart!
    Merry Christmas, Holy and Happy Holidays, Blessed Hanukkah … thank YOU very much too for the gifts of the spirit all year long.

    • genemyers says:

      Thank you very much for all of your comments on Facebook and the blog. I appreciate!! Very inspiring!
      Gene

  13. lata says:

    A nice poem indeed.

Leave a Reply

