Haiku Elvis, Louisiana poet Carlos Colon’s alter-ego (video)

Haiku Elvis is Louisiana poet Carlos Colon’s alter-ego. To get a taste of what he does, checkout this YouTube video.

Why aren’t more haiku poets experimenting like this? We all know the value of the traditional haiku masters, but why haven’t we been exploring our own times and culture as much as we’ve explored lotus flowers and the sounds of frogs jumping into ponds?

 

 

 

About genemyers

Gene Myers is a New Jersey poet, music journalist and columnist who learned to walk twice. His weekly column is called The Joy of Life. He was awarded first place in Arts and Entertainment Writing by The New Jersey Press Association.
Video | This entry was posted in haiku, poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Haiku Elvis, Louisiana poet Carlos Colon’s alter-ego (video)

  1. haikutec says:

    I regularly perform live, often ad-libbing and getting folks laughing. I don’t mind noisy bars and cafés, people moving around or arriving late, and mid-reading I might point out who they are looking for, or should sit next to. 🙂

    Performing haiku I do like a base guitar to accompany me, so appreciated the guitarist in this film.

    Also I don’t have to hand any fliming of me performing haiku, but I did read out important words to the public in Trafalgar Square, now archived by the British Library: http://www.webarchive.org.uk/wayback/archive/20100223124345/http://www.oneandother.co.uk/participants/Alan_S

    Plus there’ s a BBC interview minutes after: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/8176398.stm

    I don’t think all haiku readings are stiff and formal, but perhaps, sometimes, a spot of ad-libbing and connecting with the audience in a humourous way is healthy.

    Well done Carlos, very impressive, and a packed house who really appreciated the humour. 🙂

    Alan

  2. snowbirdpress says:

    I always write haiku from my own life…and the situations I find myself in. Of course my life is not as electronically connected as a lot of my friends. And since I don’t travel it is sort of composed of the one square foot under my feet. Yet it is informed by the many voices I hear, here on the blogs, on the internet, in my town, in my friends’ circles, in my various groups I belong to… and on and on. But the core, the central essence is always my center…. for that’s all I know and that’s all I can share honestly with anyone.
    It’s a joy to me to see the wonderful things artists like Carlos do. I think my haiku friends are truly a marvelous array of voices rooted in the culture in which they are growing. I think that’s the marvel of English Language Haiku….it encourages that.

Leave a Reply

