Column: I died and went to heaven

jeep1I was in the upstairs hallway of a house that felt like a home my family had yet to live in. The walls were shaking.

Something big was about to happen, but my wife Sarah knew that it would be a minute or two. So she was downstairs checking out the pantry.

I didn’t want her to miss God’s big entrance.

“He’s coming now!” I yelled down to her and braced myself.

She got to my side just as the hallway filled with light. The next thing I knew, we were outside on a dirt road in an idyllic country town under blue skies.

I sat in the driver’s seat of a brand new Jeep. A parade was starting to move behind us. People filled in along the sides of the road as Sarah got into the passenger seat.

My cousin Katy and her husband Joe pulled up along side of us. They also had a new SUV and were smiling and laughing as they took the lead position.

As the parade moved forth, the scene changed as if it were a movie. The camera panned through clouds until it zeroed in on a town on earth.

It is at this point that I realized that my dream was taking place in the future. Sarah and I had passed away and we were being led by a caravan of loved ones into heaven.

The dream continued with us looking down on a country town much like the one we were in up in heaven and then I saw my son Owen from a top view.

In reality, Owen is 3 years old. In this dream, he was a man with thinning hair-around the age that my parents are now. He looked a lot like my Uncle Bob, but with bright blond hair.

He was wearing tan shorts, a white T-shirt and dirty sneakers as he finished lining up rows of mums in front of a white gazebo. There was a sign sticking out of one of the pots that read “Myers mums.” Owen picked up a guitar and stepped into the gazebo.

I awoke to the sound of Owen playing in his room and whispered the dream to my wife.

“I think God was trying to give you some perspective,” she said.

She hit the nail on the head. The dream was chock full of things that the both of us love, from the pantry to the Jeep, friends, family, music and even my wife’s new interest in gardening were all present and accounted for–such a lavish display to put my mind at ease.

We’ve been running like crazy from one high priority task to another over the last couple of years: pre-natal care, selling a house, buying a house, taking care of our baby, careers, etc. That is until last week’s vacation, which started with this dream.

Isn’t the brain amazing?

About genemyers

Gene Myers is a New Jersey poet, music journalist and columnist who learned to walk twice. His weekly column is called The Joy of Life. He was awarded first place in Arts and Entertainment Writing by The New Jersey Press Association.
This entry was posted in columm, The Joy of Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Column: I died and went to heaven

  1. MaryJane says:

    nice dream

  2. Terri French says:

    I’ve been having nightmares lately, so it was nice to enjoy a pleasant dream, even if it wasn’t mine!

  3. Delving into the metaphysical a bit, eh? I like it!

  4. “Isn’t the brain amazing?” Yes, it is.

Leave a Reply

