What I would like to teach my son

The high school me that decorated his locker with pictures of Jim Morrison and Emily Dickinson wouldn’t touch politics. But my interest in poetry was genuine. It was a good fit that I reveled in. I nurtured it, and I loved it.

To me this is how love works. It takes you places you would have never gone on your own, and you’re happy to go. This is what I would like to teach my son.

If there is something that you are passionate about, keep pulling that thread. Follow it to its source.

If you follow your true desires, you will learn about yourself, learn about others, and you will be enjoying it the whole time.

Because, as Plato would add, unlike other notions of love, such as a thirst that can’t be quenched, or a high place that could never be reached, Plato’s belief was that love can be attained. It can be known and yet it will never end!

About genemyers

Gene Myers is a New Jersey poet, music journalist and columnist who learned to walk twice. His weekly column is called The Joy of Life. He was awarded first place in Arts and Entertainment Writing by The New Jersey Press Association.
This entry was posted in The Joy of Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I would like to teach my son

  1. Jazz Album says:

    Love is powerful and it can apply to many ways of everyday life. If you truly love something and are passionate about, then all you need is constant persistance to achieve. Love is what fuels our inner motivations.

    Jazz Music Website

Leave a Reply

