Could a haiku be any shorter? (an entry from my journal)

About genemyers

Gene Myers is a New Jersey poet, music journalist and columnist who learned to walk twice. His weekly column is called The Joy of Life. He was awarded first place in Arts and Entertainment Writing by The New Jersey Press Association.
This entry was posted in haiku, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Could a haiku be any shorter? (an entry from my journal)

  1. snowbirdpress says:

    Hi, Gene, I just submitted several three word haiku…and when I first discovered it I was delighted. Each word makes you pause till you enter that word…and each progressive word creates the change. But I soon found that some of mine could not convey what I had seen so I went back to my old way of doing it…actually…I am an organic haikuist…. I write how it comes.

    Some of my three worders were:
    winter
    fox
    fire

    wasp
    silk
    cocoon

    rain
    drumming
    song

    fallen
    tree
    light

    Each of these were experiences I witnessed… but I found out the hard way that the word “fox” for instance carries extremely bad connotations…and mixed with the word “fire” really sounded like something evil indeed…when I was trying to write about the desire for life I saw in the eyes of those wild foxes in winter. So I had to rewrite the haiku to say what I was trying to say….
    So glad to see someone else has discovered the fun of this though.
    Merrill

Leave a Reply

