The thrill of negotiating

My wife and I were looking for a keyboard so we could play songs together in our living room. We were willing to spend up to $150. We spent $18.


The bargaining went like this: Looking at a keyboard that should have been priced around $150, I asked the salesman for the price. He headed to the back of the store and disappeared for a while.


“I’m not sure. It’s a discontinued model. Over the next week I could see if we’re allowed to sell you this one,” he said when he reappeared.


“I’ll take it right now for $18,” I said without missing a beat.


“mmmMMMM….OK,” he said.


We left the store smiling from ear to ear.


A similar thing happened recently at Target when I bought an 8 megapixel camera for $34. Again, it was a discontinued model on sale for $68. I asked to see it. He couldn’t find it on the shelves.


“If the floor model is the last one we have, I could give you an additional 30 percent off,” he said.

That sounded like a good deal, I replied and he went to get the box.


Again, the salesman disappeared in the back of the store for what felt like a mini eternity. He came back slumped.

“We don’t have the box, or the instructions,” he said. “They were lost. I could sell it to you for 40 percent off because we don’t have them.”


“Make it 50 percent,” I said.


And once again I felt like I was making off with the devil’s catch.


I share these adventures because I love negotiating.

About genemyers

Gene Myers is a New Jersey poet, music journalist and columnist who learned to walk twice. His weekly column is called The Joy of Life. He was awarded first place in Arts and Entertainment Writing by The New Jersey Press Association.
This entry was posted in columm, The Joy of Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

