John Oates on the music Hall and Oates made

Gene: What Hall and Oates songs are you most proud of?

John: I’d say the one that stands out in my mind the most is “She’s Gone” because it really put us on the map. It was the calling card for us as songwriters and as performers. It really got our name out there. I think it has the quintessential elements of what Daryl and I both bring as individuals in a collaboration.

Gene: If you could break that down, what would that be?

John: It’s a blending of traditional American acoustic music with urban R&B. I bring a little bit more of the acoustic, folk side to it and Daryl brought a little bit more of the doo-wop, urban R&B thing to it. We blended those things together. He learned from me and I learned from him. He influenced me with his piano playing and his more sophisticated musical training and I gave to him more of the roots, folk and blues Americana. We both influenced each other and learned from each other.

About genemyers

Gene Myers is a New Jersey poet, music journalist and columnist who learned to walk twice. His weekly column is called The Joy of Life. He was awarded first place in Arts and Entertainment Writing by The New Jersey Press Association.
This entry was posted in interview, music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

