Penny Harter — I am excited!

Penny Harter is going to be at the 2010 Dodge Poetry Festival!

From the Dodge Poetry Foundation

Here’s the bio on the festival’s site:

PENNY HARTER’s newest book, Recycling Starlight, will be released this fall. Her many other books include The Night Marsh (2008), Along River Road (2005), Buried in the Sky (2002),Lizard Light: Poems from the Earth (1998) andTurtle Blessing (1996).  With her late husband, William J. Higginson, she co-authored The Haiku Handbook (25th Anniversary Edition, 2010); her children’s alphabestiary, The Beastie Book, came out in December 2009. Her work has appeared in many print and on-line journals and anthologies. Harter has received three poetry fellowships from the New Jersey State Council on the Arts, the Mary Caroline Davies Award from the Poetry Society of America and the William O. Douglas Nature Writing Award for poems in American Nature Writing, 2002. She lives in Mays Landing, New Jersey, and works as a poet in the schools.

And here is the Dodge Foundation’s blog post on her:

http://blog.grdodge.org/2010/07/09/poetry-fridays-festival-poet-penny-harter/

Or click here!

About genemyers

Gene Myers is a New Jersey poet, music journalist and columnist who learned to walk twice. His weekly column is called The Joy of Life. He was awarded first place in Arts and Entertainment Writing by The New Jersey Press Association.
This entry was posted in haiku, poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Penny Harter — I am excited!

  1. Penny Harter says:

    Dear Gene,

    What a surprise to find this posted tonight when I randomly put my name in on google—which I do from time to time to see how my blog is doing. Thank you so much for featuring me. And I’m going to subscribe, now that I know about The Rattlebag. Plus I’ll post on my blog that you’ve featured me and link to this.
    All best,
    Penny

    • genemyers says:

      Penny,
      Thanks for saying Hi and subscribing to The Rattle Bag! Are you on Facebook? I moderate a page there, Haiku Now, where we try to break through haiku myths (and where I’m always trying to learn more). The Haiku Handbook is quoted often.
      Drop me a line at myersgene@mac.com, maybe we could do an interview when your book comes out this fall?
      Best wishes,
      Gene

  2. Penny Harter says:

    Hi Gene,

    Thanks for your comment, especially for your kind reference to The Haiku Handbook. I’m not yet on Facebook, though I probably will be sometime soon. I’d be very interested in our doing an interview, and I just sent you a personal message about that. My new chapbook, Recycling Starlight, is now out from Mountains and Rivers Press (Eugene, Oregon), and I’ve just posted info about it on my blog:

    http://penhart.wordpress.com.

    I’m so pleased it was published in time for my reading at the Dodge Festival. It is a limited edition, so if readers are interested, they can decide if they want a copy after reading more about it on my blog.

    All best,
    Penny

Leave a Reply

