We Who Are Named Matt Rohrer. (via We Who Are About To Die)

Yesterday, I posted a video of Matthew Rohrer reading and then I e-mailed him to let him know that I had done this. When he e-mailed me back he brought this funny blog post to my attention asking if I had heard of this other Matthew Rohrer.

It’s not everyday you run into a Matt Rohrer. And what are the odds that when you do find two Matt Rohrers in a room that they would both be poets? Are we sure we want to continue with that Large Hadron Collider thing-y?

Luckily, instead of canceling each other out or quarking up the universe, or hitting each other over the head with spray cans, the two Rohrers are demonstrating a positive effect.

Did Matt Rohrer the Younger realize when he wrote this blog post that there would be yet another outcome from their meeting? Just by their mere existence in this little poetry world they would both increase in size.

Since the Great Google in the sky ate the world, observing something not only changes its behavior, it also feeds it and then makes it bigger. The eaten continues along as part of the blob, blog consciousness that consumed it.

Read Rohrer the Younger’s post below, “We Who Are Named Matt Rohrer.”

…And no, I did not just imply that the Matt Rohrer I know is an old blob!

It was during my second semester in the undergrad writing program at SF State, in 2003, while I was sitting on a stoop on Divisadero St. enjoying a cherry-pepper seitan sandwich from Jay’s Cheesesteaks, that a young woman from my Poetry 2 workshop walked up to me and asked me the question for the first time. “Dude, did you know that there’s another poet named Matt Rohrer?” “Really. I’ve never met anyone named Matt Rohrer. Or anyone named Rohrer e … Read More

via We Who Are About To Die

About genemyers

Gene Myers is a New Jersey poet, music journalist and columnist who learned to walk twice. His weekly column is called The Joy of Life. He was awarded first place in Arts and Entertainment Writing by The New Jersey Press Association.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

