Why did you write the first poem you wrote?


The machinery of the universe
is humming–
The night sky hints
blueprints.

“The machinery of the universe…” was written when I was a teenager in high school. I was lying in bed, looking up at the ceiling — the lights were off — and it just popped into my head. I jumped up, turned my lamp on and grabbed some paper. When I finished I put the paper into a binder and slid it under my bed. It stayed there for years along with hundreds of horrible poems that followed. The first time it saw the light of day was when my community college accepted it for the literary magazine. They used it for the back cover.

My dad is an engineer. So is his brother and cousin (all of whom I am very close to). My cousin and close friend Rob is also an engineer. It seems like this first poem was a subconscious attempt to bridge artsy me to practical them.

In 1991 I went through a series of surgeries. It was a year of pain and rehab. Fourth of July that year found me in a hospital bed at the Hospital for Special Surgery in Manhattan. My Uncle George (my dad’s cousin, one of the engineers mentioned above) came to visit me at the hospital. I shared this poem with him and he wrote it on a scrap of paper and put it in his wallet. That meant a lot to me.

About genemyers

Gene Myers is a New Jersey poet, music journalist and columnist who learned to walk twice. His weekly column is called The Joy of Life. He was awarded first place in Arts and Entertainment Writing by The New Jersey Press Association.
This entry was posted in first poem, poem, Poems from Eyedark and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why did you write the first poem you wrote?

  1. Christine says:

    Thanks for linking to me. You have connected to some great poets, here.

    Also, for a first poem, rather splendid.

    I believe my first included butterflies…

  2. Gene Myers says:

    What was your first poem? Would you be so generous to post it here? Maybe we can get a thread going about first poems!

  3. Teresa says:

    It’d be great to possibly have a thread about first poems. Reading this blog, it’s a shame that I don’t remember where I put a copy of my first poem. It’s called “Colors” and I wrote it when I was nine. I even read it to my class as like a show and tell thing.

  4. Ellen says:

    I wrote a Haiku in Elementary school. My teacher was introducing this to us and I wish that I had kept it. I remember looking outside my grandparents window. It was winter time and the snow was covering the ground like a warm blanket. I remember saying something about that. Its a treasure to remember being a child and being in awe of how peaceful the fresh snow looked on the field at night with the moon shining down on it.

Leave a Reply

