Mr. Mom scanning the pink blogs

As a dad who shares equally in the planning of my family’s daily life, I’m amazed at how often I still feel like I am in the minority.

Even though this is changing, I often bump into situations like playgroups that are ladies only, and when I’m looking for resources on the Web, the pink blogs make me feel like I’m crashing a sorority party.

I know I am not the only dad scanning the Web for quick and healthy meals and planning birthday parties.

Do any other dads out there feel this way?

About genemyers

Gene Myers is a New Jersey poet, music journalist and columnist who learned to walk twice. His weekly column is called The Joy of Life. He was awarded first place in Arts and Entertainment Writing by The New Jersey Press Association.
This entry was posted in family, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mr. Mom scanning the pink blogs

  1. I’m not another dad, but I really liked this post. It’s very true, at least in my observed opinion. My dad was a highly involved dad. Now, he wasn’t surfing the web for recipes (they didn’t have a computer until like 1998) but he really looked after our needs. You are a rare breed and it’s extremely exciting to hope that it’s growing.

  2. W.F.Roby says:

    I’m so excited to read this post. I’m in the planning stages of a blog on this very topic. My fiancee is pregnant (we’re only about ten weeks in) and I’m going to be the “stay at home day”, working from home while she stays at work. Even after she has the child, I plan on working from home and being the “housedaddy”. I’m very interested in this topic and would like to hear your further thoughts by email.

  3. martha says:

    Aw, bless. Well, as a female I can’t answer all of your question, but suffice to say that for kids’ parties, or park trips, my husband is more likely to attend if I call up a friend and find another dad for him to go with. And I don’t like pink, either. I’m more of a yellow fan.

  4. Pingback: Yes, there are Mr. Moms out there! « The Rattle Bag: Collecting the bits & pieces

Leave a Reply

