I will be thinking of you! A mental exercise that brings far away loved ones home

My grandma and I have always been close, in spite of the fact that for most of my life, we’ve lived far away from one another.  On the phone, when Grandma says she is thinking of me, I believe her because I can feel it.

Throughout my life, whenever someone said, “I’ll be thinking of you,” it seemed like more than a platitude to me. It helped.

Whether I was staring down an important exam at school or lying in a hospital bed, knowing that a loved one had me in mind at that specific moment provided comfort.

Even blowing out candles on a birthday cake feels better when you know you’re in someone’s thoughts.

Because Grandma is in Florida, these moments of well wishing are even more meaningful. They make the connection between us almost palpable.

Whether it’s a holiday, or a sunny Sunday morning, I keep Grandma in mind and I hope that in doing so, it will somehow increase the chances that I will pop into her mind as well.

I get as specific as I can—so my imagination can take hold.    I try to picture what Grandma is doing at the moment I am thinking of her.    Usually, I see Grandma at home, in the house that Grandpa always wanted, on a golf course.

Then I fill in details using memories from my visits. I try to feel the warmth from the sun coming through the screens on the porch.

I can see the sun slanting into the yard as Grandma steps out to do some gardening before the day gets hot.

I would bet that I don’t pop into Grandma’s thoughts too often while she’s on day trips with friends, but as the evening cools and she goes for a walk, there is yet another chance for family to reunite.

Quiet, meditative times allow friends and family to connect even when they can’t afford the plane ticket.

About genemyers

Gene Myers is a New Jersey poet, music journalist and columnist who learned to walk twice. His weekly column is called The Joy of Life. He was awarded first place in Arts and Entertainment Writing by The New Jersey Press Association.
This entry was posted in The Joy of Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

